COVID-19 (Coronavirus) Housing Information
Refer to the university's COVID-19 Response webpage for the latest campus information.
Am I required to wear a mask?
Masks are required indoors – regardless of vaccination status – when at least 6-feet of social distancing can’t be maintained
University Housing follows the same regulations as the rest of campus. Please visit the campus-wide COVID-19 Response webpage for the latest information about masks.
What are University Housing and the University of Arkansas currently doing?
We are working to reinforce COVID-19 vaccinations with our campus community in many ways including a series of social media efforts, and other direct messaging designed to increase the number of fully vaccinated individuals on campus.
We are currently collaborating with student groups on additional efforts to encourage vaccination.
Does the State of Arkansas require COVID vaccinations?
The Arkansas legislature recently passed a law prohibiting state entities from requiring vaccinations, and we must comply with that mandate.
Should I get a COVID vaccination?
It is not mandatory. However, we do encourage those not yet vaccinated to become fully vaccinated before the start of the fall semester, especially those living in a group community setting.
What happens if a student is not fully vaccinated?
Students not fully vaccinated and, who encounter someone who is COVID positive, must quarantine for 14 days at an off-campus location and should be clinically evaluated for COVID-19.
If COVID-like symptoms occur, the student will need to be clinically evaluated for COVID-19. If the student is determined to be positive for COVID-19 or other variants, they will isolate (off campus) for the recommended amount of time by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and local public health authorities.
I had COVID-19 why should I get vaccinated?
If and depending on when you had COVID-19 we encourage you to get a vaccination. Studies indicate that the immunity from previous infection begins to wane after as little as 90 days. So, getting fully vaccinated is the best choice whether you previously had COVID-19 or not.
What does fully vaccinated mean?
The CDC states “in general, people are considered fully vaccinated:
- 2 weeks after their second dose in a 2-dose series, such as the Pfizer or Moderna vaccines
- 2 weeks after a single-dose vaccine, such as Johnson & Johnson’s Janssen vaccine
If you do not meet these requirements, regardless of your age, you are NOT fully vaccinated.
What happens if I have close contact with someone who is COVID-19 positive, and I am not fully vaccinated?
You must quarantine for 14 days at an off-campus location or go home and have a medical evaluation for COVID-19. If it is determined you are positive for COVID-19 or other variants, you will isolate (off campus or home) for the recommended amount of time by the CDC and local public health authorities.
If I am fully vaccinated, do I have to quarantine?
Fully vaccinated students do not need to quarantine or have a test following exposure to someone with suspected or confirmed COVID-19 unless symptoms occur.
What happens if a fully vaccinated student has COVID-19 symptoms?
Although the risk that fully vaccinated people could become infected with COVID-19 is low, any fully vaccinated person who experiences symptoms consistent with COVID-19 should isolate themselves from others (off campus) and be clinically evaluated for COVID-19.
A symptomatic fully vaccinated person should inform their healthcare provider of their vaccination status at the time they seek care.
Can I request a roo change based on the vaccination status of my roommate?
Because vaccination is our primary means for preventing the spread of COVID-19 and the development of variants, and the fact that vaccines are readily available, University Housing is not making roommate changes related to vaccination status. As normal, students may request roommate changes starting the 11th day of classes.
Testing and Isolation and Quarantining
What happens if a student has a positive COVID-19 test?
University Housing has limited space for students who receive a positive COVID-19 test or need to quarantine.
Resident students who have a positive COVID test or need to quarantine should plan to spend their isolation time at home or an off-campus alternative.
Students who cannot find a place to complete their isolation or quarantine period off-campus can discuss all viable options with their hall or apartment staff.
Students can return to their on-campus assignment after the isolation time recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and local public health authorities.
What happens if a student with no COVID-like symptoms is exposed to COVID-19?
Fully vaccinated people with no COVID-like symptoms following exposure can continue their campus activities if they monitor for potential symptoms of COVID-19 for 14 days and prepare to isolate if symptoms occur.
They do not need to quarantine or be tested following exposure to someone with suspected or confirmed COVID-19 unless symptoms occur.
What if a student uses a self-test and it is positive?
They should contact their medical provider, isolate and inform any close contacts. See the CDC website for more information.
If a student is in quarantine or isolation and unable to physically attend class what do they need to do?
You need to contact your faculty to determine arrangements for accessing class materials. In the event students experience difficulties in doing so, please contact UA Cares at 479-575-5004, firstname.lastname@example.org or submit a Non-Emergency Student Concern report at: https://report.uark.edu/ for assistance.
If I must isolate or quarantine will University Housing provide a location?
University Housing will have extremely limited space to assist those students who are unable to go off-campus or home for example, international students, etc. You may contact University Housing for more information.